The Passions of Dr. Darcy - sharonlathan

7 Islands of Bombay

The seven original islands under British rule by 1668 were Bombay, Colaba, Mahim, Mazagaon, Parel, Worli, and Little Colaba.
Bombay Governor Hornby’s venture to combine the seven into one large island named Bombay (present day Mumbai) began in 1782 and was complete by 1838.
Eventually additional small islands were connected, including the much larger Salcette Island (seen in orange).